BEHIND : une danse dont vous êtes le héros (2010)

BEHINDFill in the Blanks. Why would a choreographer direct her dancers without ever seeing how their bodies inhabit the space? Marie Béland imposed that mad constraint in a bold experiment, BEHIND : une danse dont vous êtes le héros, where she invites the audience to view the choreography through the keyhole, as it were. It is up to us to observe the shadows made by the dancers and the diffuse reflection of their silhouettes and then fill in the blanks, piecing together the portrait of a couple’s increasingly forceful back-and-forth by interpreting visual and sound clues that are dispensed sparingly. And when is she going to open the damn panels that obstruct our vision? One of the most dynamic young choreographers of her generation, the Quebec artist asks radical questions in this short piece about codes of representation and the dancers’ relation to the spectator. A whimsical sensory experience alive with the playful and the unexpected.

– Fabienne Cabado for FTA 2011

Performers and collaborators on the creative process : Rachel Harris et Peter Trosztmer
Music : Avec pas d’casque (Stéphane Lafleur, Joël Vaudreuil, Nicolas Moussette)
Musicians on tour : Stéphane Lafleur or Carl-Éric Hudon, Hugo Gravel, Philippe Brault or Esther Rousseau-Morin
Dramaturg : Katya Montaignac
Rehearsal director : Thea Patterson
Light designer : Frédérick Gravel
Original stage set : Jonathan Inksetter
Actual stage set : Paul Chambers
Length : 30 minutes
Premiere : December 1st, 2010 at Tangente, Montréal, Canada
maribé – sors de ce corps would like to thank the Canada Arts Council, l’Agora de la danse, FTA and Tangente pour their support.

BEHIND Catherine Mytofir

EXCERPTS OF THE SHOW

PHOTOS OF A REAHEARSAL

Photos of a rehearsal taken by Julie Taxil (2010)

behind_12 behind_11 behind_10 behind_9 behind_4 behind_5 behind_6 behind_7 behind_8 behind_3 behind_2 behind_1 behind_taxil

THE CREATION TEAM

Rachel Harris
Rachel Harris / performer collaborator

Native from Vancouver, Rachel Harris moved to Montreal in 1990 and continued her training at l’École de danse contemporaine de Montréal. Following her training, she joined Danse Partout in Quebec and co-founded Amorce Danse Théâtre. She collaborates, throughout her career, with the choreographers Blanca Arrieta, Marie Béland, Martin Bélanger, Sarah Bild, Sarah Chase, Estelle Clareton, Margie Gillis, Anne-Marie Giroux, Benjamin Hatcher, Avi Kaiser, Benoît Lachambre, Caroline Laurin-Beaucage, Helge Letonja, Jean-Sébastien Lourdais, Jean-Pierre Mondor, José Navas, Aurélie Pédron, Jean-Pierre Perreault, George Stamos, Mariko Tanabe and Paula de Vasconcelos. She created in 2002-2003 The Coyote Project, a work for four performers, in close cooperation with the Nlaka’pamux community of British Columbia. Since 2011, she has been teaching for women in shelters as part of the Dance Against Violence program..

 

Work related: RADIOMATON, BESIDE, Dieu ne t’a pas créé juste pour danser, BETWEEN, BEHIND : une danse dont vous êtes le héros

.


Peter Trosztmer
Peter Trosztmer / performer and collaborator

After receiving his B.A. in Classics, PETER TROSZTMER studied at the Concordia University Department of Contemporary Dance before moving to Toronto to complete the School of the Toronto Dance Theatre training program. Since then, he has distinguished himself as in interpreter of the highest caliber and has worked and continues to collaborate with many national and international choreographers. As a choreographer Peter has created five critically acclaimed solo works. His choreography was selected as a top 5 show of the year (La Presse 2006 and Voir 2012). As well he was recognized for the best performance – (The Hour 2006). His work on the multi media work Norman also received many accolades including an Angel Award at the Brighton Festival UK (2009). Peter continues to define his place as a creator who is invested in work that is sensitive, deeply researched and physically realized. His co-authored article “Collaboration as Practice The Winding Road” was presented at the Canadian Society for Dance Scholars Conference 2012. Peter is current research includes “dna” a social investigation into industrial architecture, interactive movement tracking with sound and La Sociéte de les arts technologiques in Montreal with Zack Settle that will be presented in Oct 2016, as well he is artist in residence at Techno Lith – New City Gas in Griffintown where he is co-ordinating a new touring work #boxtape.

Related work: BETWEEN, BEHIND : une danse dont vous êtes le héros

.
Photo : Karin Benedict


APDC
Avec pas d’casque / musiciens

The Avec pas d’casque group was born from the encounter between a drum bag, a Sears guitar and a good kick in the butt that we don’t expect, but that we thank years later. Since its beginnings, the group has been exploring the intimate in a folk/country/grunge with lo-fi flavour and pictorial texts.

Related work: BEHIND : une danse dont vous êtes le héros

.


Katya Montaignac
Katya Montaignac / dramaturge

From 1995 to 2002, Katya Montaignac danced in Paris for the company La Gorgone directed by Vincent Lahache. Since 1998, she has contributed as a dance critic to several publications, including the journal JEU. In 2001, in Paris, she conceived the project Raymond, a solo for n interpreters that has brought together around fifty individuals, dancers or not. This project has been presented in France and Quebec more than thirty times. Member of La 2e Porte à Gauche since 2006, she regularly signs the artistic direction of her productions (Blind date, 9 ½ apart., the pARTy, 4quART, Danse à 10, Rendez-vous à l’hôtel and Pluton). Since 2007, Katya has created «Unidentified Dancing Objects» (Danses invisibles in 2007, Corps anonymes in 2009). As dance doctor, she treats the ailments of choreographers as a dramaturge, notably with Marie Béland, Frédérick Gravel, Milan Gervais and Isabel Mohn. She teaches in the dance department of UQAM and is also involved as a curator, notably for the OFFTA during 7 years.

Related work: Les Précédents, Dieu ne t’a pas créé juste pour danser, BEHIND : une danse dont vous êtes le héros, RAYON X : a true decoy story, Ils seront là à 8 heures

.

Photo : Julie Artacho


Frédérick Gravel
Frédérick Gravel / concepteur d’éclairages

Frédérick Gravel graduated in 2009 from UQAM’s (Université du Québec à Montréal) dance faculty with a thesis on “The role of the dance artist in a democratic society’’. The choreographer, dancer, musician and lighting designer Frédérick Gravel has been active on the Montreal scene for the past fifteen years. He turns the structures of choreography upside down, merging into his work various elements from rock and performance art. He joined DLD as an associate creator in 2010 and was appointed artistic director of the company in 2018.

​His productions – Gravel Works (2009), All Hell is Breaking Loose, Honey (2010), Usually Beauty Fails (2012) and This Duet That We’ve Already Done (so many times) (2015), Some Hope for the Bastards (2017) and Fear and Greed (2019) – have received great national and international reviews. He co-created with the author Étienne Lepage Ainsi parlait… (2013) and Logique du pire (2016).

​The works of Frédérick Gravel are created in close collaboration with all members of Grouped’ArtGravelArtGroup/GAG, a shifting collective of dancers and musicians actively involved in the creation process. More and more active as a teacher, Frédérick Gravel regularly gives creative workshops as well as teaching at CÉGEP Saint-Hyacinthe’s theater department, at Université du Québec à Montréal and at l’École de danse contemporaine de Montréal.

Frédérick Gravel is a member of Circuit-Est centre chorégraphique.

Related work: BEHIND : une danse dont vous êtes le héros, RAYON X : a true decoy story, Twis-manivelle

.

Photo : Julie Artacho


Paul Chambers
Paul Chambers / set and lightning designer

PAUL CHAMBERS is a Montréal based set & lighting designer. Collaborating on new dance works has always been a priority for him. Teaching workshops has also been an important part of his development as an artist and mentor. At Studio 303 he teaches a yearly lighting design workshop for artists, in addition to teaching aspects of production in dance at Concordia University. From 2008 until 2013 Paul is Technical Director at Tangente: Laboratoire de Mouvement Contemporains.  In 2013 along with fellow designer & educator David-Alexandre Chabot, they inaugurate CHA a design collective aimed at creating & sharring design based works with artists from different disciplines. Recent design credits include work with Marie Béland, Public Recordings, 10 Gates Dancing, Audrey Bergeron, Dorian Nuskind-Oder,  Benjamin Kamino, Dany Desjardins, Katie Ward, Susanna Hood, Sasha Kleinplatz, Antonija Livingstone, Adam Kinner, Maria Kefirova & Hanako Hashimi Caines, Thierry Huard, Parts & Labour Dance, Lara Kramer Dance, & Destins Croisés.

Related work: BETWEEN, BEHIND : une danse dont vous êtes le héros

.


View All

BEHIND : une danse dont vous êtes le héros (2010)

BEHIND Julie TaxilLa danse doit-elle être clairement visible par le public pour exister ? A-t-on besoin de VOIR la danse ? Devant un large panneau qui ne laisse paraître qu’une série d’indices sur la pièce, le public se fait sa propre chorégraphie, sa propre histoire, un peu comme « une danse dont vous êtes le héros », chacun s’imaginant un scénario à partir de ses propres références et fantasmes.

Une énigme à résoudre – Pourquoi une chorégraphe dirigerait-elle ses danseurs sans jamais voir comment leur corps habite l’espace ? Marie Béland s’est imposé cette folle contrainte pour calibrer au millimètre près une audacieuse expérience. Dans BEHIND : une danse dont vous êtes le héros, elle nous invite, en quelque sorte, à regarder la chorégraphie par le trou de la serrure. À nous de la deviner en observant les ombres portées des danseurs et le reflet diffus de leurs silhouettes sur le tapis de danse. À nous de mettre en images les échanges de plus en plus musclés d’un invisible couple, s’accrochant aux indices sonores et visuels distillés au compte-gouttes. Quand s’ouvriront donc ces foutus panneaux qui obstruent la vision ?

– Fabienne Cabado pour le FTA 2011

Interprètes et collaborateurs à la création : Rachel Harris et Peter Trosztmer
Musiciens : Avec pas d’casque (Stéphane Lafleur, Joël Vaudreuil, Nicolas Moussette)
Musiciens en tournée : Carl-Éric Hudon ou Stéphane Lafleur, Hugo Gravel, Philippe Brault ou Esther Rousseau-Morin
Dramaturge : Katya Montaignac
Répétitrice : Thea Patterson
Concepteur d’éclairage : Frédérick Gravel
Scénographie originale : Jonathan Inksetter
Scénographie actuelle : Paul Chambers
Durée : 30 minutes
Première : 1er décembre 2010 à Tangente, Montréal, Canada
maribé – sors de ce corps aimerait remercier le Conseil des Arts du Canada, l’Agora de la danse, le FTA et Tangente pour leur appui.

BEHIND Catherine Mytofir

 

EXTRAITS DU SPECTACLE

PHOTOS EN RÉPÉTITION (2010)

La photographe Julie Taxil a assisté à une répétition et nous livre ses images

behind_12 behind_11 behind_10 behind_9 behind_8 behind_7 behind_6 behind_5 behind_4 behind_3 behind_2 behind_1 BEHIND Julie Taxil

L’ÉQUIPE DE CRÉATION

Rachel Harris
Rachel Harris / interprète collaboratrice

Originaire de Vancouver, RACHEL HARRIS s’établit à Montréal en 1990 et poursuit sa formation à l’École de danse contemporaine de Montréal. Suite à sa formation elle rejoint la compagnie Danse Partout à Québec et co-fonde Amorce Danse Théâtre. Au cours de sa carrière, Rachel collabore, entre autres, avec les chorégraphes Blanca Arrieta, Marie Béland, Martin Bélanger, Sarah Bild, Sarah Chase, Estelle Clareton, Margie Gillis, Anne-Marie Giroux, Benjamin Hatcher, Avi Kaiser, Benoît Lachambre, Caroline Laurin-Beaucage, Helge Letonja, Jean-Sébastien Lourdais, Jean-Pierre Mondor, José Navas, Aurélie Pédron, Jean-Pierre Perreault, George Stamos, Mariko Tanabe et Paula de Vasconcelos. En 2002-2003, elle crée The Coyote Project, une œuvre pour quatre interprètes, en étroite collaboration avec la tribu Nlaka’pamux de Colombie-Britannique. Depuis 2011 elle enseigne aux femmes dans des maisons d’accueil dans le cadre du programme La Danse Contre La Violence.

 

Œuvres associées : RADIOMATON, BESIDE, Dieu ne t’a pas créé juste pour danser, BETWEEN, BEHIND : une danse dont vous êtes le héros

.


Peter Trosztmer
Peter Trosztmer / interprète collaborateur

Ayant en main un Baccalauréat en lettres classiques, PETER TROSZTMER étudie la danse contemporaine à l’Université Concordia. Il poursuit ensuite sa formation en danse au « Toronto Dance Theatre ». Interprète de talent, il travaille et collabore avec plusieurs chorégraphes reconnus sur la scène nationale et internationale.   En tant que chorégraphe, il crée cinq solos acclamés par la critique. Une de ses créations se retrouve sur la liste des cinq meilleurs spectacles de l’année des journaux La Presse en 2006 et Voir en 2012. Également en 2006, The Hour lui accorde le titre de « meilleure performance ». Sa contribution à la production multimédia Norman lui vaut plusieurs récompenses dont un « Angel Award » au Festival de Brighton au Royaume-Uni en 2009. Peter continue de tailler sa place à l’image d’un créateur qui porte sur scène des œuvres sensibles et empreintes d’une recherche profonde. Son article cosigné « Collaboration as Practice The Winding Road » a été présenté dans le cadre de la conférence de la « Canadian Society for Dance Scholars » en 2012. Actuellement, Peter réalise une recherche avec Zack Settle sur l’interaction du mouvement tracé entre le son et la vidéo à la Société des arts technologiques de Montréal. Il est aussi artiste en résidence à la Techno-Lith-New City Gas de Griffintown.

Œuvre associée : BETWEEN, BEHIND : une danse dont vous êtes le héros

.
Photo : Karin Benedict


APDC
Avec pas d’casque / musiciens

Le groupe Avec pas d’casque est né de la rencontre entre un drum valise, une guitare de chez Sears et un bon coup de pied au derrière que l’on n’attend pas, mais que l’on remercie encore des années plus tard. Depuis ses débuts, le groupe fouille l’intime dans un folk/country/grunge à saveur lo-fi et aux textes imagés.

Œuvre associée : BEHIND : une danse dont vous êtes le héros

.


Katya Montaignac
Katya Montaignac / dramaturge

De 1995 à 2002, Katya Montaignac danse à Paris pour la compagnie La Gorgone dirigée par Vincent Lahache. Depuis 1998, elle collabore en tant que critique de danse à plusieurs publications, notamment la revue JEU. Elle conçoit en 2001 à Paris le projet Raymond, un solo pour n interprètes qui réunit depuis sa création une cinquantaine d’individus, danseurs ou non. Ce projet a été présenté en France et au Québec plus d’une trentaine de fois. Membre de La 2e Porte à Gauche depuis 2006, elle signe régulièrement la direction artistique de ses productions (Blind date, 9 ½ à part., le pARTy, 4quART, Danse à 10, Rendez-vous à l’hôtel et Pluton). Depuis 2007, Katya crée des « Objets Dansants Non identifiés » (Danses invisibles en 2007, Corps anonymes en 2009). Docteure ès danse, elle soigne les maux des chorégraphes à titre de dramaturge, notamment auprès de Marie Béland, Frédérick Gravel, Milan Gervais et Isabel Mohn. Elle enseigne au département de danse de l’UQAM et s’implique également en tant que commissaire, notamment pour le OFFTA pendant 7 ans.

Œuvre associée : Les Précédents, Dieu ne t’a pas créé juste pour danser, BEHIND : une danse dont vous êtes le héros, RAYON X : a true decoy story, Ils seront là à 8 heures

.

Photo : Julie Artacho


Frédérick Gravel
Frédérick Gravel / concepteur d’éclairages

Frédérick Gravel est diplômé du Département de danse de l’Université du Québec à Montréal où il déposait, en 2009, son mémoire de maîtrise portant sur « le rôle de l’artiste en danse dans la société démocratique ». Chorégraphe, danseur, musicien, éclairagiste, il bouscule les structures de l’art chorégraphique et y intègre divers éléments liés au rock et à la performance. Créateur associé à la compagnie DLD dès 2010, il en est nommé directeur artistique en 2018.

​Ses productions – Gravel Works (2009), Tout se pète la gueule, chérie (2010), Usually Beauty Fails (2012), This Duet That We’ve Already Done (so many times) (2015), Some Hope for the Bastards (2017) et Fear and Greed (2019) – sont saluées par la critique d’ici et d’ailleurs. Les pièces Ainsi parlait… (2013) et Logique du pire (2016) sont le résultat d’une fructueuse collaboration avec l’auteur Étienne Lepage.

Assumant une véritable transversalité culturelle et disciplinaire, les productions de Frédérick Gravel sont créées en étroite collaboration avec les membres du Grouped’ArtGravelArtGroup (GAG), un collectif à géométrie variable de danseurs et musiciens. De plus en plus actif comme pédagogue, Frédérick Gravel donne régulièrement des ateliers de création en plus d’enseigner au département de théâtre du CÉGEP de Saint-Hyacinthe, à l’Université du Québec à Montréal et à l’École de danse contemporaine de Montréal.

​Frédérick Gravel est membre de Circuit-Est centre chorégraphique

Œuvre associée : BEHIND : une danse dont vous êtes le héros, RAYON X : a true decoy story, Twis-manivelle

.

Photo : Julie Artacho


Paul Chambers
Paul Chambers / concepteur de décor et d’éclairages

PAUL CHAMBERS est un concepteur lumière et scénographique, résidant à Montréal. Son intérêt et sa collaboration à de nouveaux projets ont toujours stimulé son parcours artistique. Depuis 2007, notamment avec le studio 303, il anime des ateliers pédagogiques destinés aux artistes qui voudraient approfondir leurs connaissances sur la conception lumière. Paul est aussi chargé de cours à l’Université Concordia pour enseigner le cours aspects de production en danse. De 2008 à 2013 Paul assume la direction technique a Tangente : Laboratoire de mouvements contemporains. En 2013 Paul et David-Alexandre Chabot (concepteur & pédagogue) inventent CHA, un collectif qui a pour but de crée des œuvres  avec des artistes de différentes disciplines pour partager leurs esthétique visuel et méthode de collaboration. Ses conceptions les plus récent inclus des collaborations avec Marie Béland, Public Recordings, 10 Gates Dancing, Audrey Bergeron, Dorian Nuskind-Oder,  Benjamin Kamino, Dany Desjardins, Katie Ward, Susanna Hood, Sasha Kleinplatz, Antonija Livingstone, Adam Kinner, Maria Kefirova & Hanako Hashimi Caines, Thierry Huard, Parts & Labour Dance, Lara Kramer Dance, & Destins Croisés.

Œuvre associée : BETWEEN, BEHIND : une danse dont vous êtes le héros

.


Toutes les productions