BETWEEN (2015)

In co-production and partnership with MONTRÉAL DANSE dance company

Marie Béland’s focus here is on words as body movement. Embedded in an incessant spoken discourse, body awareness slips into gestural automatisms, thus creating an «invisible choreography» which questions the identity of a dance that is free of gestural dancing, but filled with danced gestures.

BETWEEN

 

Choreographer : Marie Béland
Performers and collaborators to the creative process : Rachel Harris, Esther Rousseau-Morin, Peter Trosztmer
Dramaturg : Kathy Casey
Costumes : Angela Rassenti
Lights : Paul Chambers
Photos : Montréal Danse
Premiere : March 7th, 2015 at Festival ArtDanThé, Vanves, France
Length : about 40 minutes

In co-production and partnership with MONTRÉAL DANSE dance company
maribé – sors de ce corps would like to thank Montréal Danse, l’Agora de la danse, Festival ArtDanThé/Vanves and Théâtre 140/Bruxelles. Marie Béland would like to thank performers Bernard Martin and Nicolas Patry for their participation to the creation process. 

between1

TEASER OF THE SHOW

THE CREATION TEAM

Rachel Harris
Rachel Harris / performer collaborator

Native from Vancouver, Rachel Harris moved to Montreal in 1990 and continued her training at l’École de danse contemporaine de Montréal. Following her training, she joined Danse Partout in Quebec and co-founded Amorce Danse Théâtre. She collaborates, throughout her career, with the choreographers Blanca Arrieta, Marie Béland, Martin Bélanger, Sarah Bild, Sarah Chase, Estelle Clareton, Margie Gillis, Anne-Marie Giroux, Benjamin Hatcher, Avi Kaiser, Benoît Lachambre, Caroline Laurin-Beaucage, Helge Letonja, Jean-Sébastien Lourdais, Jean-Pierre Mondor, José Navas, Aurélie Pédron, Jean-Pierre Perreault, George Stamos, Mariko Tanabe and Paula de Vasconcelos. She created in 2002-2003 The Coyote Project, a work for four performers, in close cooperation with the Nlaka’pamux community of British Columbia. Since 2011, she has been teaching for women in shelters as part of the Dance Against Violence program..

 

Work related: RADIOMATON, BESIDE, Dieu ne t’a pas créé juste pour danser, BETWEEN, BEHIND : une danse dont vous êtes le héros

.


Esther Rousseau-Morin
Esther Rousseau-Morin / interprète collaboratrice

After graduating from l’École de danse contemporaine de Montréal, Esther Rousseau-Morin used to dance for various companies such as Le Carré Des Lombes, Bouge de Là, Maribé Sors De Ce Corps, Lorganisme (Caroline Laurin-Beaucage), Le Fils d’Adrien danse, Montréal Danse, Créations Estelle Clareton, Trois Tristes Tigres, Alan Lake Factori(e) and Animals Of Distinctions. Moreover, Esther keeps growing while participating in several workshops such as Transformation Danse, Springboard Dance, Bates Dance Festival as well as ImPulsTanz in Vienna, Austria. Meanwhile, she teaches the repertoire of several works in formal training programs and has worked as Sylvain Lafortune’s assistant for 6 years.

Related work: BETWEEN, BEHIND : une danse dont vous êtes le héros

.


Peter Trosztmer
Peter Trosztmer / performer and collaborator

After receiving his B.A. in Classics, PETER TROSZTMER studied at the Concordia University Department of Contemporary Dance before moving to Toronto to complete the School of the Toronto Dance Theatre training program. Since then, he has distinguished himself as in interpreter of the highest caliber and has worked and continues to collaborate with many national and international choreographers. As a choreographer Peter has created five critically acclaimed solo works. His choreography was selected as a top 5 show of the year (La Presse 2006 and Voir 2012). As well he was recognized for the best performance – (The Hour 2006). His work on the multi media work Norman also received many accolades including an Angel Award at the Brighton Festival UK (2009). Peter continues to define his place as a creator who is invested in work that is sensitive, deeply researched and physically realized. His co-authored article “Collaboration as Practice The Winding Road” was presented at the Canadian Society for Dance Scholars Conference 2012. Peter is current research includes “dna” a social investigation into industrial architecture, interactive movement tracking with sound and La Sociéte de les arts technologiques in Montreal with Zack Settle that will be presented in Oct 2016, as well he is artist in residence at Techno Lith – New City Gas in Griffintown where he is co-ordinating a new touring work #boxtape.

Related work: BETWEEN, BEHIND : une danse dont vous êtes le héros

.
Photo : Karin Benedict


Kathy Casey
Kathy Casey / dramaturge

Born in North Carolina, Kathy Casey began in 1979 with the Chicago Moving Company. Established in New York in 1980, she dances for several choreographers before joining the Lar Lubovitch Dance Company in 1984 and Susan Marshall & Company in 1989, with whom she has collaborated since 1981. From 1985 to 1989, she assisted Mr. Lubovitch and Mrs. Marshall in their creative work or in pieces on various international companies. Greeted by Montréal Danse in 1991, she was artistic director of the company in 1996. Now, a large part of her work is to discover and invite choreographers with singular language to create pieces for the company and to assist them in their creative process. In addition to her responsibilities with Montréal Danse, Kathy Casey acts as artistic advisor for several Montreal choreographers.

Photo : George Dutil


Angela Rassenti
Angela Rassenti / conceptrice de costumes

ANGELA RASSENTI trained in scenography at the National Theatre School of Canada. Since 2008, she has been designing sets and costumes mainly in theatre and contemporary dance. This is not her first collaboration with maribé – sors de ce corps; in 2013 she designed the costumes and accessories for the creations; BLEU – VERT – ROUGE and Vie et mort de l’élégance. Among her most recent works, a costume design in March 2014 with Amélie Rajotte for her creation Carnaval for Tangente, at Studio Hydro Québec, a costume design for Plus Vrai by Sarah Bild with Danse Cité during fall 2013, and a scenography for Scrap by Mathieu Leroux with the Neos Futuristes at Espace Libre in 2012.

Work related: BETWEEN, Révélations, Figures de silence, BLEU – VERT – ROUGE, Vie et mort de l’élégance

.


Paul Chambers
Paul Chambers / set and lightning designer

PAUL CHAMBERS is a Montréal based set & lighting designer. Collaborating on new dance works has always been a priority for him. Teaching workshops has also been an important part of his development as an artist and mentor. At Studio 303 he teaches a yearly lighting design workshop for artists, in addition to teaching aspects of production in dance at Concordia University. From 2008 until 2013 Paul is Technical Director at Tangente: Laboratoire de Mouvement Contemporains.  In 2013 along with fellow designer & educator David-Alexandre Chabot, they inaugurate CHA a design collective aimed at creating & sharring design based works with artists from different disciplines. Recent design credits include work with Marie Béland, Public Recordings, 10 Gates Dancing, Audrey Bergeron, Dorian Nuskind-Oder,  Benjamin Kamino, Dany Desjardins, Katie Ward, Susanna Hood, Sasha Kleinplatz, Antonija Livingstone, Adam Kinner, Maria Kefirova & Hanako Hashimi Caines, Thierry Huard, Parts & Labour Dance, Lara Kramer Dance, & Destins Croisés.

Related work: BETWEEN, BEHIND : une danse dont vous êtes le héros

.


View All

BETWEEN (2015)

PROCHAINE REPRÉSENTATION : 26 octobre 2017 19h30 au Cabaret BMO / Odyscène, Sainte-Thérèse, QC

Billets

 

En co-production et partenariat avec la compagnie MONTRÉAL DANSE

Marie Béland s’intéresse ici à la parole comme mouvement du corps. Noyée dans un bavardage incessant, la conscience du corps glisse doucement vers des automatismes gestuels, créant ainsi une « chorégraphie invisible » qui questionne l’identité d’une danse dépourvue de gestuelle dansante, mais remplie de gestuelle dansée.

Between

Chorégraphe : Marie Béland 
Interprètes et collaborateurs à la création : Rachel Harris, Esther Rousseau-Morin, Peter Trosztmer
Dramaturge : Kathy Casey
Costumes : Angela Rassenti
Éclairages : Paul Chambers
Photos : Montréal Danse
Première : 7 mars 2015 au Festival ArtDanThé de Vanves, France
Durée : environ 40 minutes

En co-production et partenariat avec la compagnie MONTRÉAL DANSE
maribé – sors de ce corps aimerait remercier Montréal Danse, l’Agora de la danse, le Festival ArtDanThé de Vanves et le Théâtre 140 de Bruxelles. Marie Béland remercie les interprètes Bernard Martin et Nicolas Patry pour avoir participé au processus de création.

BANDE-ANNONCE DU SPECTACLE

L’ÉQUIPE DE CRÉATION

Rachel Harris
Rachel Harris / interprète collaboratrice

Originaire de Vancouver, RACHEL HARRIS s’établit à Montréal en 1990 et poursuit sa formation à LADMMI (L’École de danse contemporaine de Montréal). Suite à sa formation, elle rejoint la compagnie Danse Partout à Québec et co-fonde Amorce Danse Théâtre, compagnie de deux personnes dédiée à apporter la danse hors des chemins battus. Dans plus de 20 ans de carrière, Rachel collabore comme pigiste et dans le cadre de Montréal Danse avec les chorégraphes Blanca Arrieta (Espagne), Marie Béland, Martin Bélanger, Sarah Bild, Sarah Chase, Estelle Clareton, Margie Gillis, Anne-Marie Giroux, Benjamin Hatcher, Avi Kaiser (Belgique), Benoît Lachambre, Caroline Laurin-Beaucage, Helge Letonja(Allemagne), Jean-Sébastien Lourdais, Jean-Pierre Mondor, José Navas, Aurélie Pédron, Jean-Pierre Perreault, George Stamos, Mariko Tanabe et Paula de Vasconcelos. En 2002-2003, elle crée The Coyote Project, une œuvre pour quatre interprètes, en étroite collaboration avec la tribu Nlaka’pamux de Colombie-Britannique. Depuis 2011 elle enseigne aux femmes dans des maisons d’accueil dans le cadre du programme La Danse Contre La Violence.

 


Esther Rousseau-Morin
Esther Rousseau-Morin / interprète collaboratrice

Promue en 2007 de l’École de Danse Contemporaine de Montréal, ESTHER ROUSSEAU-MORIN a par la suite dansé pour plusieurs chorégraphes, dont Séverine Lombardo, Dany Desjardins, Jacques Poulin-Denis, Rosy Simas, Hélène Langevin, Harold Rhéaume et Danièle Desnoyers. Elle collabore actuellement avec Alan Lake, Estelle Clareton, Montréal Danse, Caroline Laurin-Beaucage, Marie Béland, Noam Gagnon et Dana Gingras. De plus, Esther poursuit son développement en participant à plusieurs stages de perfectionnement comme Transformation Danse, Springboard Dance, Bates Dance Festival, ainsi qu’ImPulsTanz à Vienne en Autriche pour lequel elle obtient une bourse du Conseil des Arts du Canada en 2012. En tant qu’enseignante, elle agit pendant 6 années comme assistante aux classes de partenaires de Sylvain Lafortune.


Peter Trosztmer
Peter Trosztmer / interprète collaborateur

Ayant en main un Baccalauréat en lettres classiques, PETER TROSZTMER étudie la danse contemporaine à l’Université Concordia. Il poursuit ensuite sa formation en danse au « Toronto Dance Theatre ». Interprète de talent, il travaille et collabore avec plusieurs chorégraphes reconnus sur la scène nationale et internationale.   En tant que chorégraphe, il crée cinq solos acclamés par la critique. Une de ses créations se retrouve sur la liste des cinq meilleurs spectacles de l’année des journaux La Presse en 2006 et Voir en 2012. Également en 2006, The Hour lui accorde le titre de « meilleure performance ». Sa contribution à la production multimédia Norman lui vaut plusieurs récompenses dont un « Angel Award » au Festival de Brighton au Royaume-Uni en 2009. Peter continue de tailler sa place à l’image d’un créateur qui porte sur scène des œuvres sensibles et empreintes d’une recherche profonde. Son article cosigné « Collaboration as Practice The Winding Road » a été présenté dans le cadre de la conférence de la « Canadian Society for Dance Scholars » en 2012. Actuellement, Peter réalise une recherche avec Zack Settle sur l’interaction du mouvement tracé entre le son et la vidéo à la Société des arts technologiques de Montréal. Il est aussi artiste en résidence à la Techno-Lith-New City Gas de Griffintown.

photo : Karin Benedict


Kathy Casey
Kathy Casey / dramaturge

Originaire de la Caroline du Nord, KATHY CASEY débute en 1979 avec le Chicago Moving Company. Établie à New York en 1980, elle danse pour plusieurs chorégraphes avant de se joindre à la Lar Lubovitch Dance Company en 1984 puis, à Susan Marshall & Company en 1989, avec qui elle collaborait depuis 1981. De 1985 à 1989, elle assista monsieur Lubovitch et madame Marshall dans leur travail de création ou dans le remontage de pièces sur différentes compagnies internationales. Accueillie par Montréal Danse en 1991, elle est nommée directrice artistique de la compagnie en 1996. Maintenant, une grande partie de son travail est de découvrir et d’inviter des chorégraphes au langage singulier à créer des pièces pour la compagnie et de les assister dans leur démarche créatrice. En plus de ses responsabilités au sein de Montréal Danse, Kathy Casey est appelée à agir comme conseillère artistique pour plusieurs chorégraphes de Montréal.


Angela Rassenti
Angela Rassenti / conceptrice de costumes

ANGELA RASSENTI a suivi sa formation en scénographie à l’École Nationale de Théâtre du Canada. Depuis 2008 elle conçoit des décors et des costumes principalement en théâtre et en danse contemporaine. Ce n’est pas sa première collaboration avec la compagnie maribé – sors de ce corps;  en 2013 elle a conçu les costumes et les accessoires pour les créations; BLEU – EVRT – ROUGE et Vie et mort de l’élégance. Parmi ses autres œuvres les plus récentes; Une conception de costumes en mars 2014 avec Amélie Rajotte pour sa création Carnaval pour Tangente au Studio Hydro Québec, une conception de costumes pour Plus Vrai de Sarah Bild avec Danse Cité  automne 2013, et une scénographie pour Scrap de Mathieu Leroux avec les Néos Futuristes à Espace Libre en 2012.


Paul Chambers
Paul Chambers / concepteur de décor et d’éclairages

PAUL CHAMBERS est un concepteur lumière et scénographique, résidant à Montréal. Son intérêt et sa collaboration à de nouveaux projets ont toujours stimulé son parcours artistique. Depuis 2007, notamment avec le studio 303, il anime des ateliers pédagogiques destinés aux artistes qui voudraient approfondir leurs connaissances sur la conception lumière. Paul est aussi chargé de cours à l’Université Concordia pour enseigner le cours aspects de production en danse. De 2008 à 2013 Paul assume la direction technique a Tangente : Laboratoire de mouvements contemporains. En 2013 Paul et David-Alexandre Chabot (concepteur & pédagogue) inventent CHA, un collectif qui a pour but de crée des œuvres  avec des artistes de différentes disciplines pour partager leurs esthétique visuel et méthode de collaboration. Ses conceptions les plus récent inclus des collaborations avec Marie Béland, Public Recordings, 10 Gates Dancing, Audrey Bergeron, Dorian Nuskind-Oder,  Benjamin Kamino, Dany Desjardins, Katie Ward, Susanna Hood, Sasha Kleinplatz, Antonija Livingstone, Adam Kinner, Maria Kefirova & Hanako Hashimi Caines, Thierry Huard, Parts & Labour Dance, Lara Kramer Dance, & Destins Croisés.


Toutes les productions